Book Learnings #3

Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill was given to me by an extremely rich, older man back when I was in college.  He gave me the book and said “this book changed my life and gave me everything you see here.”  (He was referencing the mansion and all of the expensive things that surrounded us while we talked)  I sat on the book for years (literally).  I came across another successful entrepreneur at the gym a few months ago and we got to talking.  I had mentioned our business venture (JobBindr) and he said nearly the same thing as the rich man once said years ago–“The one book that changed my life and that I recommend to all of my clients is ‘Think and Grow Rich’ by Napoleon Hill.”  I mentioned I owned it and he replied, “Ah, but it doesn’t sound like you’ve read it.”

At this point, I HAD to read the book.  I began reading it a few weeks ago and had told my mentor and boss that I had started reading this book.  He told me that he had read this book as well back in his 20’s.  This really interested me now.

Well, I have finished the book and boy was it motivating.  The book essentially gives you principles to live by to be successful like those of the past.  One thing that caught my eye and stuck was one word: Persistence.   While I continue to go through the highs and lows of trying to start our business venture, I am beginning to realize that what has separated all of the successful people in this world from the rest is their persistence on wanting to be successful.  With this in mind, we will reach the financial freedom that we are so passionately seeking.

“Patience, persistence and perspiration make an unbeatable combination for success” – Napoleon Hill

think and grow rich.jpg

Leave a Reply

